Best of Blue Island Awards Recap

Cheers Blue Island! Congratulations to our winners, to all the nominees, and a huge thank you to everyone who joined and supported the Best of Blue Island Awards 2024.

2024 Best of Blue Island Award Winners:

Community Spirit Residential Category – Joe Leamanczyk & Ben Walker, 12905 Greenwood Ave.

Community Spirit Business Category – The Lyric Theater

Healthcare Professional of the Year – Dr. Dan Ahrens, Meyer Eyecare

Educator of the Year – Josh Meyer, Mother McAuley Liberal Arts High School

Non-Profit of the Year – Blue Cap

Volunteer of the Year – Dennis Ziolkowski, St. Benedict Food Pantry

Man of the Year – Scott Arnold, The Lyric Theater

Woman of the Year – Amanda Garetto-Melvin, Beggars PizzaThe Lyric TheaterIversen’s BakeryBe.illinois

Business of the Year – Van’s Maplewood Inn

Civic Leadership Scholarship Awards – Esther Heyboer & Brianna Torrence-Jones, Eisenhower High School

Also congratulations to our 2024 Executive Committee, Chairwoman Jackie Barton, Vice Chair Kim Gunaka, and Treasurer Bruce Bronson, and welcome to the board Anna Wassenaar!


The Lyric Theater

Beggars Pizza

DMasti Catering

Barton Pest Control

Old National Bank

TLC Learning Center Blue Island

Bettys’ Place of Blue Island, IL

BUB Café

Flowers By Cathe

Andrew Moreno Trio

Browntown Communications

Ron & Kim Gunaka

Karen & Steve Warrick

Jackie Barton

Blue Island Beer Company

J. Patrick Tueth

Benjamin Tomera

Matt White